top of page

Research Trip to Kew Gardens

Trying to research and work through up to or over six projects this summer is proving to be a challenge, but I'm glad I've been quite clever in choosing similar themes for a few projects, making the research trips interchangeable and making my word load that little bit lighter! I traveled to Kew Gardens in London with the hopes of getting some primary research in the form of photographs and information from displays and leaflets, and I'd happily say that the trip did not disappoint.

The main attraction for me to go to Kew Gardens was The Hive sculpture, which is a huge metal structure inspired by beehives, emitting a buzzing noise representing the way in which bees communicate with each other within the hive, the noise is actually triggered by the real bee activity within a beehive in Kew. The structure stands an impressive 17 metres tall, and in centred within a large display of wildflowers. The Hive is a visual symbol of the role pollinators play in our environment and also pulls to light the challenges they face in our ever changing world. Pollination is one of the most important biological process on our planet and, with the crisis of extinction looming over our beloved pollinators, The Hive does a fantastic job of educating the masses. The significance of the wildflower displays surrounding the sculpture are quite disheartening, the UK has lost 97% of it's wildflower meadows since the 1930's (www.kew.org) and losing these floral population has a massive effect on the environmental food chain.

After visiting The Hive I managed to explore some other aspects of Kew, including the Palm House, Waterlily House, Kew Palace and Royal Kitchens, Princess of Wales Conservatory and the Davies Apline House (as well as the other external planted flower beds and trees). From these places I managed to get some amazing photographs to work from, and for colour inspiration as I am planning on trying to work to a brighter colour scheme for my third year at university because I've tended to stay with muted colours thus far in my work and need some variation for work future portfolios!

My day at Kew started off as quite rainy and overcast, so my hopes to find some insects were dampened, however by the middle of the day the weather had brightened up and all sorts of insects were flitting about the lakes and ponds! I managed to catch a few photos of hoverflies, honeybees and bumblebees but also saw quite a few damselflies but they were unfortunately lightening fast and not very fond of modelling for me. These insect finds will be fantastic for both my major project and my work for my internship with artist and scientist Karen Ingham, as well as being great inspiration for another project opportunity to work with Willis Newson on a mural which I am planning to apply for in mid August. The florals will be perfect for both imagery and colour inspiration for my major project as well!

As I was leaving the gardens I had time to look at the products they were selling in the gift shop, which was good market research as I'm looking into perhaps creating a range of kitchen or homeware items as my final pieces. I took photos of the products I was most interested in, with botanical designs and insects, and also took note of the prices they were advertised at as research for both my major third year project and my project for the Mission Gallery in Swansea, where I am required to create a product that could be sold in the gallery gift shop.

All in all my research trip to Kew Gardens was nothing short of amazing, and I'd love to go back there and explore the other side of the grounds. In the meantime I'm going to work from the images I've collected and also visit some more local places if I need any more inspiration or imagery.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
bottom of page