top of page

Final Second Year Project Reflection

Since my first year studying Surface Pattern Design at UWTSD I've been experimenting a lot to find my own style and my own interest, trying everything from geometry to classical art. I think my final project during my second year has definitely put me on the right path to doing just this. I chose to base my project on insects and gave it the name "Phasmatodea", meaning stick insects.

I used stick insects, locusts, moths and some made up insects to create designs for wallpapers, coasters and cushions, as well as a glass piece. To research this theme I used my existing knowledge and experience of bugs, from multiple zoological societies and nature sites, as well as live insects donated to me by a friend!

From creating this project I feel as though I have flourished, I have never been so interested in creating designs and undertaking research. By trying out glass work and ceramics, I've also begun a new interest in a variety of new interior products, rather than just sticking to my initial interest of wallpapers.

I started this project with a one to one with designer Kit Miles, which definitely made me think more in depth about what I wanted my final outcomes to look like. I wanted to make typically repulsive insects become beautiful and sophisticated in an interior setting, which I think I achieved within my wallpapers especially. As a result of creating this project I was offered the opportunity to work with scientist and designer Karen Ingham, on a new project of hers based on hoverflies, which will be exhibited and available to view around the end of this year (I will be blogging about this later on with the specific details!), and I am positive this will influence my own major work in the future.

I think I have found my own personality and developed my creativity fully through this project, and I hope to continue with the insect and floral theme for my third year work!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
bottom of page